Austin Camps scored his second straight Running Zone Foundation Race Series victory on May 13, capturing the season-ending Run for the Gekco 5K.

The victory by Camps, 18 of Melbourne Beach, also earned him the series overall male championship for the 2016-2017 season, making him one of the youngest champions in the series 12 seasons. Michael Fisher also won at 18 in 2011-2012.

The series overall female championship went to Melbourne’s Kaitlin Donner, 27, for the second straight season.

The 14th anniversary of the running of Gecko also capped another successful year for the seven-event Running Zone Foundation Race Series.

The race was run on a new course, starting and ending at Melbourne’s Wickham Park Community Center.

“We had a great season,” said Running Zone co-owner and race director Denise Piercy. “The series just concluded its 12th season and as has been in the case for the previous years overall participation increased as did the smiles of runners and walkers crossing the finish lines.

“There’s so much work that goes into staging this series and seeing how much the participants get from the races and how much they enjoy them makes it all worthwhile. In the end it’s all about and for the participants and we can’t thank them enough. Their participation also has benefitted a host of local charities, which helps make Brevard County a great place to live. We now look forward to an even better 2017-18 season.”

Camps captured Gecko in 16 minutes, 25 seconds. Viera’s John Davis, 39, was second in 16:30 and Melbourne’s Tyler Roberts, 19, was third in 17:12.

Viera’s Holly Davis, 21, captured the overall female victory in 17:39, good for seventh overall. Indialantic’s Alison Nolan, 27, was second in 18:42 and Indian Harbour Beach’s Melissa Taylor, 39, was third in 19:17.

Shane Streufert, 45, of Viera captured the Male Masters laurels in 17:24. Julie Hannah, 43, of Melbourne was the Female Masters winner in 20:16.

Team honors went to Viera Pizza of Davis, Streufert, John Davis, Derek Beckett and Joel Rivera in 1:26:52.

Team Running Zone of Seth Rosonina, Steve Hedgespeth, Jonathan Howse, Nolan and Joe Lento was second in 1:31:17. The Has Beens of Jennifer Absher, Megan Romesberg, Aidan Montague, Jack Lee, Kenny Brodrick were third in 1:39. Indian Habour Montessori took school participation honors with 28. Westside Elementary was second with 10 and Manatee Elementary third with nine. Sixty-eight participants from 15 schools took part.A total of 912 participants overall took times in Gecko.

The 2017-2018 series kicks off with the Firecracker 5K on Tuesday, July 4 at a new venue, Melbourne’s Front Street Civic Center. For complete series information, visit