New and familiar came together as the 2017-2018 Running Zone Foundation Race Series blasted off with the Firecracker 5K on July 4.

Running on a new course in Historic Downtown Melbourne, two-time defending series women’s overall champion Kaitlin Donner launched her Space Coast winning streak into yet another season with a 13-second victory.

On the men’s side former Holy Trinity Episcopal Academy standout Daniel Moore covered the overall and men’s field with a 27-second victory.

Moore, 23, crossed the finish line in 16:18, outpacing second-place Jacob Dordick, 24, who crossed in 16:45 and Derek Beckett, 24, who crossed in 16:56.

The Male Master’s title went to Shane Streufert, 45, who finished in 17:56 to capture a seventh straight Masters victory dating back to last season.

Donner, 27, finished in 18:12 to 18:25 for Holly Davis, 21, and 20:03 for Natalie Bress, 16.

Tracy Dutra, 44, took the Female Masters title in 21:32.

The team triumph went to Viera Pizza of Beckett, John Davis, Zeke Zauner, Streufert and Holly Davis with a combined time of 1:28:04. Team Running Zone of Donner, Steve Hedgespeth, Jonathan Howse, John Carr and Joe Lento was second at 1:33:40 while Slug Club of Logan Kraus, Natalie Bress, Joey Tierney, Carli Etrick and Liam Pelikan was third at 1:44:16.

Lucas Vannorsdall was the Firecracker 5K Hero winner at 21:55, topping a field of 48.

Indian Harbour Montessori took the school participation honors with nine students.

Overall, 1,262 participants took times. With a record 1,372 registered!

For complete series information, visit